Carefree Acti-Fresh · Period Pads
Carefree Maxi Overnight Pads with Wings
Waterproof period pad; unspecified backing raises PFAS concern without disclosure.
Carefree Overnight pads use waterproof backing materials not publicly disclosed. Waterproofing in feminine hygiene products often involves PFAS coatings, but Carefree provides no transparency or testing data.
The safe swap
OB
OB / Maternity Pad Maxi Super Absorbency NON241279
70/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Good.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
Nonwoven cellulose blend with waterproof backing/adhesive, composition unspecified
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
What’s concerning
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.
Category baseline
period care is a category where PFAS exposure is more common.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement about PFAS in this product.
Adhesive composition (undisclosed)
Carefree does not publish adhesive formulations. Period pad adhesives typically contain acrylate polymers or rubber-based compounds; some formulations include plasticizers or tackifiers that may migrate or cause skin sensitization in prolonged contact, though systemic absorption is minimal given application site and duration.
Fragrance allergens (Acti-Fresh scent)
Carefree Maxi Overnight pads are scented with Acti-Fresh fragrance. Fragrance mixtures in period products are a known trigger for vulvovaginal contact dermatitis, particularly in people with sensitive skin or existing irritation. The specific fragrance ingredients are proprietary and not disclosed; unscented alternatives are available from most manufacturers.
Nonwoven cellulose degradation and particle shedding
Nonwoven cellulose blends used in absorbent cores can shed fibers or particles when saturated or manipulated, especially if the fiber bond is weak. While small fiber shedding is typical for this product class, poor-quality nonwoven can increase the risk; Carefree does not specify fiber bonding methods or quality thresholds.
Waterproof backing integrity loss over time
All plastic-film backings degrade with moisture exposure and body heat over months of storage or use in humid environments. Carefree pads stored in bathrooms or damp conditions may experience adhesive or film breakdown, reducing performance and potentially allowing bacteria growth or material flaking.
The full breakdown
What it's made of and why it matters
Carefree Maxi Overnight uses a nonwoven cellulose blend (typically wood pulp, rayon, or cotton fibers) as the absorbent core, paired with a waterproof backing layer of unspecified chemical composition and adhesive systems. The waterproof layer is the primary concern: period pad manufacturers typically use polyethylene (PE) or polypropylene (PP) films, but many add fluorochemical water-repellents to achieve rapid liquid-lock performance. Carefree's silence on backing chemistry and PFAS-free claims is a red flag in a category where disclosure is increasingly standard.
The brand's record and disclosure
Carefree (owned by Edgewell Personal Care, a subsidiary of Energizer Holdings) does not publish material safety data sheets or publicly disclose PFAS use in period products. The brand has no known certification by initiatives like MADE SAFE or Cradle to Cradle that would signal third-party vetting for chemical hazards. No major recalls or documented health incidents tied to this specific product are on record, but the absence of transparency on waterproof backings is standard industry practice for this manufacturer, not a sign of safety.
How it compares in its category
Most mainstream period pad brands (Kotex, Always, Tampax) operate under similar opacity regarding backing chemistry and PFAS disclosure. Brands explicitly claiming PFAS-free status (Cora, Rael, Kimberly-Clark's recent All Good line) have begun testing and publishing results; Carefree has not followed suit. For overnight absorbency without PFAS transparency, this product sits in the middle of the market: better than some ultra-heavy brands reliant on multiple plastic layers, but less transparent than emerging eco-conscious competitors.
If you buy it
Change pads every 4-6 hours or when saturated (overnight pads are designed for 8+ hours but individual absorbency varies). Store in a cool, dry place away from direct heat or humidity, as moisture can degrade adhesive performance. Do not reuse or rinse pads. If you experience skin irritation, itching, or rash, discontinue use; it may signal sensitivity to adhesive, fragrance (these pads carry the Acti-Fresh scent), or backing material contact.
What we don’t know
- Basis
- Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Carefree Acti-Fresh has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
Safer alternatives in Period Pads
OB
O.b Pro Comfort Super Plus 16 pad
rayon/viscose, cotton, and gelling polymers
Microplastic shedding or degradation
Limited concern
Irritation or allergic sensitization from adhesive or synthetic fibers
Moderate concern
Bacterial growth or contamination from prolonged moisture
Limited concern
Lower concern. Typical period pad materials lack PFAS triggers.
⚠Risky category by default
OB
/ Maternity Pad Maxi Super Absorbency NON241279
cellulose, polyethylene, absorbent core (typical period pad materials)
Absorbent polymer (sodium polyacrylate) allergic sensitization
Limited concern
Polyethylene microplastic shedding
Limited concern
Bacterial colonization from prolonged wear
High concern
Lower concern, typical pad materials rarely require PFAS treatments.
⚠Risky category by default
OB
OC BON Ultra Thin Wings Sanitary Pads Medium 4P
Cellulose, nonwoven synthetics, adhesives
Adhesive contact sensitivity
Limited concern
Bleaching residues in cellulose
Limited concern
Lower concern. No PFAS-prone materials publicly identified.
⚠Risky category by default
More period pads grades
How we score: every product runs through the same public 0–100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.