PFAS75/ 100Excellent
Overall59/ 100Good
Caraway 14-Piece Knife & Utensil Set

Caraway · Non-Stick Knife Sets

Caraway 14-Piece Knife & Utensil Set, Is It Non-Toxic?

Excellent

No coating of concern recorded, and no PFAS statement from the brand.

Verdict · SkipStainless steel blades with no Teflon-type coating and unspecified polymer handles present low established risk; brand transparency limited but no recalled hazards on record.

The brand has published no PFAS statement for this product that we could find.

Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.

Material

stainless steel blades, handles (polymer/composite unspecified)

Lab data

No public lab test

You may also be interested in

Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.

  • polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial growth in spent cartridges

3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

  • RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters

4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

Avocado Vegan Mattress

Avocado

Vegan Mattress

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ MADE SAFE Certified✓ Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS)
  • organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Heavy metals

2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.

Is Caraway 14-Piece Knife & Utensil Set non-toxic? What it is made of

The Caraway knife set features stainless steel blades, which do not leach metals into food under normal use and resist corrosion without requiring non-stick coatings. The handles are polymer or composite material, though the specific resin type (polypropylene, nylon, thermoplastic elastomer, or blend) is not disclosed by Caraway. Stainless steel cookware presents lower concern for Teflon-type coating off-gassing compared to traditional non-stick knife handles in high-heat use.

What’s concerning

♾️

No PFAS disclosure

No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.

85/ 100
♾️

Category baseline

The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.

70/ 100
⚠️

Polymer handle composition and additives

The handle material resin type is not specified by Caraway. Unknown polymers may contain plasticizers (phthalates, BPA alternatives), colorants, or UV stabilizers; without disclosure, additive leaching during hand-washing or contact with acidic foods cannot be ruled out, though risk is low for handles that do not contact food directly.

70/ 100
⏳

Handle degradation and bacterial growth in crevices

Composite or polymer handles are prone to micro-cracking and moisture retention at the blade-handle junction, creating microbial refuges if not dried promptly. This is a mechanical hygiene risk, not a chemical hazard, but relevant to food safety over the knife's lifespan.

70/ 100

What’s reassuring

✅

Bare uncoated material

Recorded as a bare, uncoated material with no surface coating or treatment.

100/ 100
✅

Teflon-type coating or silicone coating on blades or handles

Caraway does not advertise non-stick blade coatings for this set, and stainless steel alone requires no Teflon-type coating. If handles have silicone grips, silicone is food-safe and does not off-gas at normal use temperatures; no hazard reported.

95/ 100
✅

Metal leaching from stainless steel blades

Stainless steel cookware-grade material does not leach chromium, nickel, or molybdenum into food under normal cutting or storage. No reports of metal contamination from Caraway stainless cutlery exist.

95/ 100
💨

Formaldehyde / VOCs

No evidence that Caraway applies formaldehyde-releasing finishes or uses azo dyes on handles. Standard polymer molding does not require these additives, though disclosure remains absent.

Source, ATSDR ↗
95/ 100

How is this PFAS grade calculated?

The brand's record and disclosure

Caraway has built a direct-to-consumer brand reputation on cookware transparency and health-conscious materials, yet the company provides no formal PFAS statement or third-party certifications (such as NSF or FDA compliance verification) for this knife set. No safety recalls or established hazard reports exist for Caraway cutlery. The undisclosed handle polymer composition reflects a broader industry trend of minimal material transparency in knife sets, making full assessment of additives like plasticizers or flame retardants impossible from public sources.

How it compares in its category

Non-stick knife sets typically rely on Teflon-type coating or silicone coatings that pose fume risks if overheated; Caraway's uncoated stainless steel design sidesteps this hazard entirely. Most mid-market knife sets (Zwilling, Victorinox, Wusthof) use similar stainless blades with nondescript polymer handles, making Caraway competitive on material safety. The 14-piece set format suggests inclusion of utility shears and utility knives with rubberized or composite grips, a standard and low-risk category construction.

If you buy it

Hand wash immediately after use to prevent polymer handle deterioration from dishwasher heat and detergent over time. Avoid storing in high-temperature environments (above 130F sustained) or near direct sunlight, as unknown polymers may soften or leach plasticizers. Inspect handles annually for cracks, discoloration, or brittleness; these indicate material degradation and warrant replacement. Do not use blades on abrasive surfaces or with metal utensils, as nicks in stainless can initiate corrosion and expose handle interfaces.

What is not known about PFAS in this product?

Basis
Model estimate, 72% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
Caraway has made a specific claim

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

More non-stick knife sets grades

How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.