PFAS25/ 100Poor
Overall17/ 100Bad
Whisper Ultra Clean Sanitary Pads for Women, XL 8 Napkins

Whisper · Period Pads

Whisper Ultra Clean Sanitary Pads for Women, XL 8 Napkins

Poor

Brand silent on PFAS. Waterproof coating source unclear; skip if PFAS-concerned.

Verdict · SkipWhisper Ultra Clean XL carries unclear PFAS waterproof coating and lacks transparency on materials, but standard cellulose-polypropylene construction poses low acute risk if used as directed.

Whisper does not disclose PFAS presence or absence. Sanitary pads use moisture barriers of unspecified composition, common concern area for PFAS. Independent lab data unavailable for this product.

The better-graded swap

Seventh Generation Chlorine Free Maxi Pads

Seventh Generation

Seventh Generation Chlorine Free Maxi Pads

100/100 safety

100Excellent

Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.

Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.

Material

cellulose, polypropylene, unspecified moisture-barrier coating

Brand disclosure

Brand is silent on PFAS

Lab data

No public lab test

What Whisper Ultra Clean Sanitary Pads is made of, ingredients and materials

Whisper Ultra Clean XL is constructed primarily from cellulose (the absorbent core) and polypropylene (the backing and side panels), both inert materials with long safety records in period care. The critical unknown is the "unspecified moisture-barrier coating" used to create the waterproof layer, which may contain PFAS (fluorinated compounds) or other synthetic water-repellents. The cellulose and polypropylene themselves are not known to migrate harmful substances into skin under normal use, but the coating composition directly affects overall safety profile.

What’s concerning

♾️

Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment

Water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.

65/ 100
♾️

Category baseline

The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.

75/ 100
♾️

No PFAS disclosure

No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.

85/ 100
🍳

Waterproof coating (unspecified chemical identity)

The moisture-barrier coating is not identified by Whisper. It may contain PFAS or other synthetic water-repellents; lack of transparency prevents assessment. Direct prolonged skin contact is inherent to the product's use.

70/ 100
⏳

Coating degradation over time

Waterproof coatings can degrade with age, heat, or moisture exposure during storage. If coating breaks down, the absorbent core becomes exposed, potentially altering how the pad performs and increasing direct skin contact with underlying materials.

70/ 100

What’s reassuring

✅

Fragrance or additive allergens

Whisper Ultra Clean specifications do not list added fragrance or known irritant additives in public materials. However, individual sensitivity to cellulose or polypropylene is rare but possible; patch testing is advised for sensitive skin.

95/ 100
✅

Microplastic shedding

Polypropylene backing is unlikely to shed microplastics under normal use (pads are not heated or mechanically stressed). No established evidence of microplastic migration from conventional period pads.

95/ 100
✅

Cellulose purity and contaminants

Cellulose sourcing and purification in Whisper products is not publicly detailed. No recalls or contamination reports are on record, suggesting standard manufacturing controls are in place.

95/ 100

The full breakdown

The brand's record and disclosure

Whisper (Procter and Gamble subsidiary) has not publicly disclosed the chemical composition of its waterproof coatings or stated a position on PFAS elimination. Major period-care brands including Kotex and some private labels have begun transparency initiatives; Whisper's silence on this is notable given consumer advocacy pressure. No major recalls specific to chemical contamination in Whisper Ultra Clean have been established in public safety databases, but lack of disclosure does not equal safety assurance.

How it compares in its category

Whisper Ultra Clean is a mainstream, mid-tier product in a category where PFAS concerns have driven some consumers toward organic cotton pads or brands with stated chemical transparency (e.g., Cora, Aunt Flow). Most conventional pads use similar cellulose-polypropylene-coating constructions; the difference lies in disclosure. Whisper's market dominance reflects affordability and availability, not higher chemical transparency than alternatives.

If you buy it

Use pads as directed and replace every 4 to 8 hours to minimize prolonged skin contact with any coating residues. Store in a cool, dry place away from direct heat or sunlight, as temperature may affect coating integrity over time. Discontinue use if you experience unexplained skin irritation or allergic reactions. If PFAS exposure is a personal concern, request material safety data from Whisper directly or consider brands with published PFAS-free or PFAS-tested claims.

What we don’t know

Basis
Model estimate, 35% confidence, not a lab result
Lab test
None on record for this exact product
Brand statement
Whisper has made none

Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.

Better-graded alternatives in Period Pads

Seventh Generation Chlorine Free Maxi Pads

Seventh Generation

Chlorine Free Maxi Pads

100ExcellentPFAS grade
✓ MADE SAFE Certified
  • organic cotton, wood pulp
  • The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
  • Fragrance allergen content
Nana Maxi Thick

Nana

Maxi Thick

70GoodPFAS grade
  • cellulose, cotton blend, absorbent core
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Bleach residues and processing chemicals in cellulose

3 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.

10pack Kotex Natural Normal Sanitary Pads

Kotex Natural

10pack Kotex Natural Normal Sanitary Pads

70GoodPFAS grade
  • Cotton, wood pulp absorbent core, plastic backing
  • We found no PFAS statement from the brand
  • Pesticide residue

2 hazards checked on this product. See all of them.

More period pads grades

How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.