Kotex Ultra Thin Heavy Pads with Wings
Lower concern than apparel, but waterproof layers raise unanswered PFAS questions.
Waterproof backing is standard in pads but Kotex doesn't disclose PFAS presence or avoidance. No third-party testing exists for this product.
The better-graded swap
Seventh Generation
Seventh Generation Chlorine Free Maxi Pads
100/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
Cellulose, synthetic absorbent core, polypropylene layers, waterproof backing
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Kotex Ultra Thin Heavy Pads with Wings is made of, ingredients and materials
Kotex Ultra Thin Heavy uses cellulose as the primary absorbent layer, which is a natural, biodegradable material with minimal chemical processing. The synthetic absorbent core (typically superabsorbent polymer, or SAP) is designed to lock moisture away from skin. Polypropylene layers provide structure and shape retention. The waterproof backing prevents leakage but is where PFAS-type water-resistant chemicals are most likely used, though Kotex has not disclosed specifics.
What’s concerning
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
Water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.
PFAS
Polypropylene or polyethylene waterproof layers commonly use fluorinated or silicone water-resistant finishes; Kotex has not disclosed whether PFAS compounds are used. Skin contact duration is intermittent and localized, lowering acute exposure risk compared to apparel worn for extended periods.
Source, ATSDR ↗What’s reassuring
Synthetic fragrance and additives
Kotex Ultra Thin Heavy lists no added fragrance on packaging. No reported cases of allergic reaction or fragrance-related dermatitis specific to this product line, though sensitivity varies by individual skin microbiome.
Superabsorbent polymer (SAP) integrity
SAP core is chemically stable under normal use and does not leach into the body. No established link between SAP exposure and systemic health effects, though localized skin irritation is possible in sensitive individuals if pad integrity is compromised.
Cellulose sourcing and bleaching residue
Kotex does not disclose whether cellulose is chlorine-bleached or oxygen-bleached. Standard industry chlorine bleaching can leave trace dioxin residues, but exposure from a single pad is negligible; no recalls or health complaints tied to bleach residue in this product exist.
Microplastics
Polypropylene layers are durable under normal use and do not shed microplastics during wear. Risk would only materialize if pad is heated, mechanically damaged, or disposed of in ways that fragment the plastic (e.g., incineration), which is outside typical consumer use.
Source, EPA ↗How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Kotex (owned by Kimberly-Clark) does not publicly disclose detailed chemical composition, ingredient certifications, or explicit PFAS policies for menstrual products. No major recalls or safety controversies specific to this pad line are on record. The brand has not pursued third-party certifications like Cradle to Cradle or OEKO-TEX for this category, which limits independent verification of chemical safety claims.
How it compares in its category
Most mainstream pads (Tampax, Always, U by Kotex) use similar cellulose-SAP-polypropylene construction; chemical hazard profiles are largely equivalent across brands. Organic or certified-safer alternatives (Seventh Generation, Cora, Rael) typically disclose ingredients more transparently and claim to avoid synthetic fragrances and chlorine bleaching. Kotex Ultra Thin occupies the standard mainstream tier without differentiation on safety transparency.
If you buy it
Change pads every 4-8 hours to prevent bacterial overgrowth and reduce skin irritation risk. Do not use heat (washing machine hot water is fine; do not microwave or expose to direct heat). Replace immediately if you notice rash, itching, or odor changes, which may indicate skin sensitivity or moisture breakdown. Store in a cool, dry place away from direct sunlight to prevent material degradation.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 52% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Kotex has made a specific claim
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Kotex Ultra Thin Heavy Pads with Wings?
- organic cotton, wood pulp
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Fragrance allergen content
- cellulose, cotton blend, absorbent core
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bleach residues and processing chemicals in cellulose
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- Cotton, wood pulp absorbent core, plastic backing
- Pesticide residue
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
More period pads grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.