Carefree Ultra Thin Pads With Wings
Skip until brand discloses water-resistant coating composition.
Carefree does not publicly disclose PFAS status or coating materials. Waterproof topsheets in period products often contain PFAS-based treatments, but this brand provides no transparency. Lab testing unavailable in public domain.
The better-graded swap
Seventh Generation
Seventh Generation Chlorine Free Maxi Pads
100/100 safety
Same rubric that flunked this product. The swap earned Excellent.
Still want this one anyway? Check the price on Amazon. We’d swap it.
Material
nonwoven synthetic layers with unspecified water-resistant topsheet coating
Brand disclosure
Brand is silent on PFAS
Lab data
No public lab test
You may also be interested in
Top-graded picks in the categories readers replace first, every one scored on the same rubric.
- polypropylene filter housing, carbon/sediment cartridge
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial growth in spent cartridges
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Aquasure
Premier Series 75 GPD Under Sink Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
- RO membrane, carbon filters, stainless steel housing
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bacterial and microbial growth in housing and filters
4 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
Avocado
Vegan Mattress
- organic cotton, natural latex, coconut coir, recycled steel coils
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Heavy metals
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
What Carefree Ultra Thin Pads With Wings is made of, ingredients and materials
Carefree Ultra Thin uses nonwoven synthetic layers (typically polypropylene and cellulose) with an unspecified water-resistant topsheet coating. The coating composition is not disclosed by the brand, and this is the material most likely to contain PFAS or other synthetic water-repellent chemicals. The absorbent core and backing layers themselves are standard in the category, but the topsheet coating is the opacity point for chemical identity.
What’s concerning
Waterproof / stain-resistant treatment
Water-repellent coating treatments have historically used PFAS.
Category baseline
The starting point for this type of product, before anything specific to this product is counted.
No PFAS disclosure
No public statement from the brand about PFAS in this product.
PFAS
The topsheet coating identity is not disclosed. Water-resistant coatings in absorbent products historically use PFAS; some manufacturers are switching to alternative polymers, but Carefree has not stated which. This product's PFAS grade is Poor (25/100); verification is needed before purchase if PFAS avoidance is a priority.
Source, ATSDR ↗Skin sensitization from fragrance or unidentified additives
Carefree Ultra Thin is unscented, reducing fragrance allergen risk. However, any synthetic coating or residual manufacturing chemicals could trigger contact dermatitis in sensitive individuals; case reports are not tracked by the brand or published in aggregate.
What’s reassuring
Formaldehyde / VOCs
No recalls or published reports of formaldehyde release from Carefree pads exist. Nonwoven synthetics may use melamine or polyurethane binders; formaldehyde risk is present in the category but not documented for this product.
Source, ATSDR ↗Azo dyes in printed elements
No safety alerts on record for dye use in Carefree pads. Printed logos and patterns may use azo dyes, but direct skin contact risk is low and no incidents are documented.
Microplastic shedding from degraded synthetic layers
No research on microplastic release from period pads during use is publicly available. Nonwoven synthetics are designed for structural integrity in wet conditions, but long-term degradation pathways and fragment size have not been studied for this product.
How is this PFAS grade calculated?
The brand's record and disclosure
Carefree (Kotex brand, Kimberly-Clark) has not publicly disclosed the composition of its water-resistant topsheet coating or made statements about PFAS use in period products. No independent recalls or safety alerts specific to this product line appear in FDA or CPSC records for chemical leaching or contamination. The brand's silence on coating chemistry is the primary disclosure gap.
How it compares in its category
Most conventional period pad brands (Kotex, Tampax, Always, Cora, Seventh Generation) do not openly disclose topsheet coating chemistry, making this product typical in opacity rather than exceptional. Organic-certified or GOTS-certified period products tend to provide more transparency on synthetic treatments, though they command a price premium. Carefree's positioning as an affordable, mass-market option means it follows industry standard formulations, not enhanced disclosure.
If you buy it
Store in a cool, dry place away from heat and humidity to avoid accelerating any degradation of synthetic layers. Replace pads every 4-6 hours during use regardless of absorbency level, as bacterial growth risk increases with time and moisture. If you experience skin irritation, rash, or allergic reaction, discontinue use and consider testing with uncoated or organic alternatives. Keep away from children and pets.
What is not known about PFAS in this product?
- Basis
- Model estimate, 45% confidence, not a lab result
- Lab test
- None on record for this exact product
- Brand statement
- Carefree has made none
Formulations change between production runs, so check the current label. How we grade.
What are the PFAS-free alternatives to Carefree Ultra Thin Pads With Wings?
- organic cotton, wood pulp
- The brand calls it PFAS-free, which we have not verified
- Fragrance allergen content
- cellulose, cotton blend, absorbent core
- We found no PFAS statement from the brand
- Bleach residues and processing chemicals in cellulose
3 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
- Cotton, wood pulp absorbent core, plastic backing
- Pesticide residue
2 hazards checked on this product, all on its full breakdown.
More period pads grades
How we score, every product runs through the same public 0-100 rubric based on materials, coatings, brand disclosure, lab findings, and recalls. See the full methodology → Spotted a mistake? Report an error.